Monsters

This is my version of “Monsters” Hope you enjoy both mine and the original post from Sue:

Monsters

 

Monsters are real to an extent, it seems,
But they mainly stick to really bad dreams.

At times, however, a feeling I get
That one may be lurking in the shadows yet.

On a foggy night that fills me with dread,
I think I feel persons long since dead.

They creep through the night and whisper to me;
They tap on my shoulder and laugh with glee.

I feel the icy cold fingers grip me tight
And not want to let up for the rest of the night.

Footsteps behind me make me increase my pace;
In the window’s reflection, I see a dead face.

I hear spectral laughter, my heartbeat increases,
And fear makes me sweat, and want to go to pieces.

I feel the small hairs on the back of my neck
Prickle and stand up like sailors on a deck.

The air turns cold all the sudden it seems,
And then I hear blood curdling screams

Of people who’ve been taken before their time
And search for whomever committed the crime.

 

(c) 2010 by John T. M. Herres

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

There are dark places Where the mind dares to wander Endlessly seeking  Lurking in shadow Monsters, real and imagined Flee the touch of Light

View original post

3 thoughts on “Monsters

Leave a Reply

